Subiaco AFC History




Subiaco History1910: E.M. Lakyn formed the Subiaco British Association Football Club. Paying in black and were, the British Football Association Matches are played at the Esplanade Perth Oval and Wellington Square

1914: Local soccer leagues suspended due to WW1.


Subiaco Juniors
1920. By the mid-1920s, Subiaco expands to include Junior and Reserve teams.

1923. Subiaco returns to the playing field wearing the maroon and gold colours associated with the club today.


1934 Subiaco AFC Winners

1934. Subiaco wins their second Division Two Championship by defeating Midland 2-1 in the Wanderers Cup (promotion play-of game).


1940s: Life and play disrupted by WWII.


1952 Division 2 Winners

1951. Junior team wins the Junior League.

1952. Club renamed Subiaco City.

1952: Subiaco wins the Division Two league title for a third time.

1952. Onslow Road Reserve renamed Rosalie Park.


Subiaco Soccer Club 1961

1962. Subiaco AFC joins the Soccer Federation of Western Australia, a new semi-professional competition.

Subiaco 1952 - 1988

1969. Subiaco Fields it’s first women’s teams, under the Subiaco City banner.


Subiaco Under 10s 1973

1974: Subiaco wins the Division Three Top Four Cup.


Subiaco-City 1986

1981. First clubhouse built for $6000, named after Mr Fred Cumber, Club President

1984: Subiaco Amateur Soccer Club (ASC) is formed and participates in the Perth Friendly Soccer League, a Sunday social competition.

1989. Subiaco City man’s team move north and change name to Subiaco Stirling SC, then Balga West Coast, before folding. Subiaco United & Subiaco City Juniors remain at Rosalia.


Subiaco Stirling 1991

1991. New Clubhouse at Rosalie Park.

1992. Subiaco United claims the Division Two title.

1996. New floodlights on lower pitches.


Subiaco AFC Winners Divsion 1

2001. Women’s football returns to Subiaco thanks to a merger with Curtin University WSC

2001. Subiaco United win Division One.

2006. Subiaco fields 6 women’s teams.

2009-19: U15e compete in Gothia World Youth Cup, world’s biggest youth sporting event in Sweden.  First West Australian Team to attend. Only Australian club to play more than three times.

2008: United wins second Division One title.

2009: Final season under the Subiaco United banner.

Subiaco United Logo


Subiaco AFC

2010: Subiaco United and Subiaco City Juniors merge to form Subiaco AFC.

2014: Subiaco accepted in to the newly formed National Premier League (NPL)

Subiaco Mens NPL 2018

2019: Subiaco AFC wins the Women’s State League


Subiaco Womens NPL Teeam

2020: Subiaco accepted as an inaugural member of the Women’s NPL.